Paul Allison's Summer Reading Blog
Tuesday, 6. August 2002
A few notions that floated my way while I was at sea (Dourish pp. 77-97)

The second half of the third chapter left me feeling like I was swimming in pretty deep water. This isn’t a bad feeling. In fact, reading material that I’m not immediately understanding makes me think sometimes. However, I feel like I’m approaching the heart of this book where Dourish is explaining his own research program, and I’m feeling a bit at sea, like I’ll have to read this section again.

Here are a few notions that floated my way in this section of the book. One important concept that I want to keep thinking about has to do with how designing software requires one to use abstractions and metaphors. And this relates to the comments that Joe wrote in response to one of me earlier postings about Dourish’s book. Part of an answer to Joe—and others who might wonder whether graphic interfaces and metaphoric designs artificially cover complexity—is Dourish’s comments that “abstraction makes it possible for us to treat a complex set of computational behaviors as a simple, higher-level object out of which we can build something new and even more useful” (p. 82).

It’s interesting to follow Dourish’s complication of the notion of abstractions of interfaces hiding features of interaction. His example on pages 83 and 84 of how folders on a desktop might represent files that act differently depending whether or not they are on the desktop of a computer helps explain the problem of abstract representations that the user can’t control.

So if I’m getting this right—and I think I have more questions than answers—Dourish is asking for computer software and systems that provide the user with specific, detailed, ethnographic information. Is changing from WYSIWYG to HTML an example of “computational reflection"? (p. 85) Not really, right? Because you can’t reconfigure the program. Ah, but with Manilla you can, if you have the patience.

Dourish makes a distinction that I like between “space” and “place” (p. 89 & 90). This is something that I could relate to, thinking about how I’ve designed chat rooms (spaces or places?) in my office in the TappedIn MOO. And he also mentions what has been my theme of late when it comes to computers: language variation. “Structure of the environment is often a key issue in controlling how interactions develop” (p. 90). Yes, that makes this seem worth slugging through if it helps me to understand how computers structure environments that control linguistic (and other) interactions.

In general, I do get this notion of providing “frameworks that help system designers invest interactive systems with sociological understandings” (p. 96). At least I think I do, but I’m spinning a bit from all of this theory.

Online for 7942 days
Last modified: 8/2/02, 4:40 PM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Calendar
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
August
Recent updates
Connecting abstract concepts with technological
design (Dourish, Chapter 5) Chapter five has a little bit...
by paulallison (8/16/02, 6:21 PM)
An aside about critical thinking
and e-mail (On Language New York Times Magazine, 8/11/02) I...
by paulallison (8/13/02, 4:03 AM)
Phenomenology through a teacher's eyes
(Dourish, Chapter 4) I recently finished Dourish’s “whirlwind tour through...
by paulallison (8/12/02, 2:54 PM)
A few notions that floated
my way while I was at sea (Dourish pp. 77-97)...
by paulallison (8/6/02, 5:20 AM)
Sociology, Ethnography, Technology and Teaching
(Dourish pp. 55-77) I found the difference between chapter two...
by paulallison (8/4/02, 6:14 PM)
Sci-Fi Visions, but when will
we see them? (Dourish, Chapter 2) Reading chapter two was...
by paulallison (8/2/02, 4:43 PM)
Philosophical Foundations Longing to be
Embodied (Dourish pp. 14-23) Dourish ends chapter one with general...
by paulallison (7/31/02, 4:43 AM)
A Skills & Abilities History
of Computing (Dourish pp. 5-14) In the first chapter, Dourish...
by paulallison (7/30/02, 3:45 PM)
Technology as Philosophy (Dourish pp.
vii-4) I was very busy yesterday, packing, traveling and unpacking,...
by paulallison (7/28/02, 6:03 PM)
What I'm packing for vacation
Ah... tomorrow my family and I go to the Berkshires!...
by paulallison (7/27/02, 5:05 AM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher